My Little Watermelon

At the end of September my parents and sister Breanne came for a visit.    We went to a couple yarn shops and I picked out a pattern to make for my 1 year old niece Gwenyth.  My mom helped chip in some money for the yarn (Blue Sky Alpaca) and asked if it would be done by Christmas.  “Heck no,” I said. “She’ll be lucky if she has it by her 13th birthday.”

Well guess what?  No, you have no idea?  A little thick aren’t you?  Well let me tell you…I finished it in one month.  It was actually really easy and I learned a couple new things while working on it, including the kitchener stitch and how to attach sleeves. 

I can’t wait to get it on my niece and watch her stain it with a bottle of fine port and some crème brûlée…or in reality, grape juice and chocolate pudding.  I’ll just look at her with dreamy eyes and say, “Awww, isn’t she just the cutest.”

Here is my finished version:

Watermelon Sweater by Alana Dakos

I’ll be sure to take a picture of her at Christmas time and post that too.  But for now it looks so warm that perhaps I’ll squeeze into it for my run tonight.  There is snow in Vancouver for the first time since I moved here over a year and a half ago, and tonight is running group.  So excited to final put on my tights and hit the pavement in the cold. (I think only a few of my running friends back in Ontario-ari-ario can appreciate that comment.)

2 thoughts on “My Little Watermelon

  1. Looks great Dana! Can’t wait to see her in it!
    Check out the sweater I made for Kole. He is wearing it in my profile pic.
    ttyl

Leave a Reply

