Autumn Beret

Cubicle
Where I hang my hat at work.

Here is my latest project: Autumn Beret by Alana Dakos.  The name may sound familiar because she also designed the pattern for the watermelon sweater I made for my niece Gwen.

I started this piece on Christmas day, when I finally found a moment to myself about 9pm at night.  My sister Bre and I love sitting on the big, comfy chairs in my parent’s kitchen.  We don’t say much, but we enjoy being in each other’s company.  Perhaps this is because, in years past, when we talk, I usually get a little bossy, Breanne usually gets pretty moody and it can create explosive results.

I loved this design.  I learned so many new stitches, made a lot of frustrating mistakes that I learned new skills by fixing, and I worked it with a cashmerino fibre, which was devine to touch.  I completed most of it on the plane ride back to Vancouver as well.  (Yes, they will let you on a plane with knitting needles and no, they will not let you on a plane with a half finished bottle of Baileys…quite the disappointment.)

I forced my work wife Melissa to take some pictures of me with the hat on at during some ‘down time’.  Here they are…

Full on hat.
The back. It was pretty much a touque before I blocked it, but it did loosen up and fits quite nicely now.

 

Side view.
Side view. On a clear day you can see the mountains, but not this day.

Details: 3.75mm 16″ circ needle, Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino from Gina Brown’s, Alana Dakos pattern.

One thought on “Autumn Beret

  1. I LOVE the beret! I always find myself drawn to intricate patterns like these.

    I am also a knitter and blogger. I am trying to move some of the WiPs to Finished status so I have decided to schedule a once a month KNITTING DAY! The first one is this January 20th, beginning at 8am EST. I took the entire day off work and plan to knit my way through 5 different projects.

    If you’re interested, take a look at my blog – I’ve posted some of the details over the last couple of days.

    I’d love to have LOTs of knitters join me in KNITTING ALL DAY!

    Thanks,
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

