Christmas Knitting Frenzy

Some delicious Malabrigo yarn in worsted and fingering weights.
Some delicious Malabrigo yarn in worsted and fingering weights.

Christmas knitting.  Do you cringe when you hear that, or do a million ideas fly through your mind?  

I started thinking about mine in September when I was in Portland at Powell’s Bookstore.  A place where I knew I had to keep my wits about me and not spend too much money.  It was supposed to be a no yarn trip.  I had no stores that i just had to visit.  I was really disciplined in working down my stash and was successful for several months, but then I ended up in the knitting section at Powell’s (I never said I couldn’t spend money on knitting books) and low and behold they were selling yarn, and Malabrigo yarn at that!

When I walked up to my lovely boyfriend 20 minutes later with a mountainous stack of books and 4 ‘must-have’ skeins on top, the look on his face was priceless.  He just shook his head and laughed.  He didn’t even have to ask the next question, because he knows my rule:

Rule #1 No buying yarn with out a project in mind. Unless it is sock yarn, then you can buy as much as you want.

I'm such a yarnhead for taking pictures of this.  It was too beautiful to resist.
I’m such a yarnhead for taking pictures of this.  It was too beautiful to resist.

Pretty good rule right?  I think so.  I shared my vision to knit hats for my four nieces in all the pretty colours that I had and that my sister, Breanne, would help me…meaning she would pay for half the yarn.  I knew she would be on board.  Who turns down cheap American yarn prices?  Not me, that’s who.

In the end, my sister was easy to convince, though we changed some of the projects and had to buy a couple additional skeins.  Oh well.  I finish a beautiful hat this week for my niece Gwenyth, or Gwen-nie as she calls herself.  I used the lovely light purple Malabrigo in the picture and it looks great.  Pictures to come when I get my little model to show it off at Christmas.

PS – The stash has been on a steady upswing since i cracked at Powell’s.  Isn’t there some saying about ‘how the mighty fall’?  Well it hurts, mostly my wallet, but it still hurts.

One thought on “Christmas Knitting Frenzy

  1. Looking forward to seeing the hats! I love reading your blogs! It’s so nice you and Bre can knit my kids stuff when I don’t ever seem to finish anything as of late! Although I will get Trent’s Christmas stocking done before Christmas! Love you sis!

Leave a Reply

