Unpacked and Itching to Renovate

I have almost officially lived in my new home for a week now and it is wonderful.  There is so much space and light I get giddy at the thought!  The move went really well, albeit a lot of work, but we had lots of friends who showed their support and worked up a good sweat moving boxes and furniture. Amazingly, everything was unpacked and in its place on Saturday night.  Dave and I were done so early we pulled out a puzzle to do together on the floor.  I decided not to hook the cable up when I moved in to save money for a trip next year, so I’m learning to deal with the quietness and a puzzle is something that relaxes me as I can plug away at it while listening to music or podcasts.  However, I will miss the sound of a TV in the background, it can be comforting and can fill gaps in time…though sometimes it has a tendency to fill up too much time.  

Flowers from my co-workers garden.
Flowers from my co-workers garden.

It’s hard to think about the wedding plans coming up when all I can think about are little renos I want to do around the condo and furniture that it would be nice to have.  But that will come with time and I’ll get a better sense of what I want after living here for a bit.  Tomorrow Dave and I are going to finish cleaning my old apartment (finally!) and give my keys back, then we are off to Canadian Tire to look for a BBQ and some little fix it things for the new place.  If we have time after that we’ll start looking for wedding bands.  It’s going to be a full day, but productive, and if you know me, I like a good productive day.  But for now, I’m going to chill out and relax with a book and catch up on some knitting (I’m almost done all the bunting, hooray!)  Hopefully I’ll be able to get into doing more regular updates on here now that the move has finished and there is a bit of a lull before wedding chaos.

I guess you’ll find out.

 

Leave a Reply

