From Looking to Cooking

Raspberry Blackberry Soufflé with Salted Caramel ice cream (Earnest Ice Cream). The soufflé is based off a dish seen on Masterchef Australia.
Raspberry Blackberry Soufflé with Salted Caramel ice cream (Earnest Ice Cream). The soufflé is based off a dish seen on Masterchef Australia.

My cooking has been growing a lot this past year, even so much as to say it is the Year of Food for me (Dave is benefitting greatly too!).  I have been learning so much and trying new techniques and I’m sure that is going to pop up on my blog a bit more.  

It is interesting how new passions can develop in areas you never really thought much about in your younger years.  In my early 20s I was eating TV dinners and frequenting McDonalds.  The extent of my cooking was a really fatty (but delicious) bacon Alfredo pasta from an early Jamie Oliver cookbook.  I was never really more adventurous than buying a cookbook with pretty pictures and maybe trying the easiest recipe in it…but mostly I just looked at the pictures.  For some reason it didn’t really connect that I could make those dishes. 

With my growing interest in the Farmer’s Market beside our church, I decided it was time to really start learning how to cook better, plus I was getting married and I wanted Dave and I to eat well for years to come, hence the culinary course I took in the winter.  That was a great ground work for getting my knife skills up to chuff, so much so that I actually enjoy mise en place (preparing all the ingredients before cooking) and I’m getting a bit more speed up on my cutting.

After watching tons of Masterchef Australia, it has dawned on me that I CAN cook anything I put my mind too.  I may fail in some things, but I can always learn from it and correct it the second time around.

Prosciutto-Sage Chicken with Pan-Roasted Figs from Keys to the Kitchen cookbook.
Prosciutto-Sage Chicken with Pan-Roasted Figs from Keys to the Kitchen cookbook.

Now that I have some great kitchen things, due to the generous donations from friends and family to our wedding fund, I have a stand mixer and a good sauté pan.  I now have the ability to make some really awesome food that was complicated to create with what I had before.  It is so much easier when you can sauté something on the stove top then stick the pan right in the oven (good stainless steel) and it is much easier to properly blend in sugar to a meringue when you don’t have to balance a hand blender in one hand and pouring sugar in the other while your bowl threatens to rattle off the counter. 

More kitchen awesomeness to come! 

 

Leave a Reply

