Cookbooks: Beekman 1802 Heirloom Cookbook

I have been looking for a good pie dough for a little while now and finally found one that works really well in a cookbook I bought in California called Beekman 1802 Heirloom Cookbook.   Not only was the pie dough recipe good, but so was the Rustic Apple Pie recipe I used as a filling, which included soaking the apples in rum and finely dicing up rosemary to add into the apple filling.  It was delicious.  I’m a lover of rosemary and the herb just added the perfect amount of complexity to the dish to make the apple pie just that much more delicious.

I’ve tested a couple other recipes from this book including the Leek and Potato Gratin, Harvest Beef Chilli, Butternut Squash-Filled Lasagna Rolls (yum!) and the Sautéed Chicken with Pears (double yum!).  I’ve only had one dud from this book (Buttery Peach Cake) which I think may have been more my error than the books, as others certainly liked it even if I didn’t love it.

Sautéing leeks for the Potato and Leek Gratin.
Sautéing leeks for the Potato and Leek Gratin.

I think one of my favourite aspects is that the recipes are divided by season and not protein or by course.  This way I can look ahead of time at what should be at the farmers market when I’m grocery planning so I can have the best produce and ingredients for the meal.

Another thing I love is the two guys who wrote the book.  I read their first book about moving from New York City to start a farm.  They weren’t experienced farmers, but they were willing to work really, really hard to do what they loved.  Success was difficult (so were the mortgage payments) and in an interesting twist of fate they ended up on The Amazing Race and won in the last season, allowing them to pay off their mortgage and really develop their farm and business.  They make soap and currently have a second cookbook out focused on desserts which I’m very curious about.   

Check out their site here.

Leave a Reply

