Knit City 2013

This past weekend, I went with some knitter friends to Knit City.  Yes, you read that right, I have knitter friends!  In the past few months I have connected with some other serious knitters who understand what gauge, DPN, frogging and blocking mean.  No longer does Dave need to be with me at these events (though I think he misses them a little bit). 

I went in with some specific things I wanted and had some success and in the process got to connect and reconnect with some of the designers that I really like, including Jane Richmond, Shannon Cook and Melissa from Miso Crafty (man I love that name!)  Tin Can Knits was there as well. I love her patterns especially Gramps, which I hope to knit up soon for future babies.

Here are some of the treasures I bought:

Small project bag from Miso Crafty Knits.  I have been wanting one of these for ages and I was so happy to see a pattern I knew I wanted instantly and that she even had a booth this year (first time).  Melissa did an awesome job in the small space and I hope she sold out, cause she deserves it with all the work she put in.  

 

I also saw this amazing Malabrigo Rasta in Teal Feather. And if you know me and teal, you know I couldn’t pass this up.  I should be able to find a quick cowl to knit up to go with my cream coloured winter jacket. 

 

Lastly, and this one may seem like a real odd ball choice, but I got a hot neon pink skein from Vancouver’s own Rain City Knits.  I have been wanting to do a fun project for myself or a kid with a neon colour and some solids like gray or black.  This is going to work perfectly.  Think stripped scarf. 

I had a great time and I’m looking forward to what creations comes out of my new finds.

I may also have some knitting dates coming up with my new knitting friends.  Where we will sit and sip tea and knit.  But for now I’m going to get my knitting on.  I wonder what Dave will say…

 

Leave a Reply

