Christmas Is Coming…Eventually

The bunting from our dessert table.  I'm going to use the white and add some red and green to add some Christmas feel to our fireplace. Photocredit: The Nickersons
The bunting from our dessert table.  I’m going to use the white and add some red and green to add some Christmas feel to our fireplace. Photocredit: The Nickersons

I have been a little stressed about Christmas.  It is the first one in our new place and I want to have it feel like Christmas at home, but we currently have no tree and very minimal decorations up.  I was hoping for more of a Christmas threw up in our condo feel. (Dave doesn’t really share this desire.)  

I was hoping we could pick up a real Christmas tree last weekend.  We are going home to Ontario on the 21st, which doesn’t leave us a lot of time to enjoy it and I’m hoping it doesn’t completely die while we are away, so we can enjoy it over New Years.  I was hoping to go Sunday to a christmas tree farm and start a new tradition with Dave, but we had some last minute changes to our day and ended up having to do several things around the condo, we did, however, pick up a tree stand.  

I am knitting up some red and green bunting to hang in front of the fireplace.  It is the same knitted pattern as the ones we used for our wedding, so I am reusing the white ones and just doing up some new red and green triangles.  Hopefully I can have them up by the end of the weekend.  It needs to look more like Christmas around here!

There are also some great Christmas craft shows coming up including Make It!, which is this weekend, and Got Craft two weeks after.  Hopefully I can pick up a couple things to spruce up our place.  And tonight we are going to get our tree, finally, at a tree lot.  Better than nothing I suppose.  Should make for a fun date night as we can hang out with the fireplace on, decorate and listen to Christmas music.  Now I just need traffic to start flowing so Dave can get home from work sometime tonight.

Leave a Reply

