Christmas is Here!

Happy Holidays everyone!  I know it is still the start of December, but Christmas parties and in full swing and our condo is finally decorated.  There is a nip in the air and I need some caffeine (that’s all year round, but whatever).  Here are some pictures of how we decorated on a budget.  

First our Christmas Tree, which took a little investment, we didn’t have a tree stand so we got a good one that will last and was really easy to use, then Nov 30th, when trees finally went for sale around the city, we picked up a beautiful Plantation Fir, which I had never heard of but looks similar to a Balsam, though it has a peppery smell.  The picture below doesn’t do it much justice, but the one above is a nice one Dave took of it all lit up.

I also did up some bunting for the fireplace and pulled out my yarn ball wreath, which matches our walls really well.  Below that is a wreath we got at the Make It! craft sale two weekends ago.  I was so excited to have something on our doors, as many of our neighbours seem to have adorned their doors as well. (Please excuse the colour, it was taken at night and the hall lighting isn’t good.)

I also did a ton of Christmas baking on my flex day last week.  I made a Triple Citrus-Coconut Shortbread Bars (Key’s to the Kitchen), Almond Rocha (courtesy of Erin Nesbit), Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Pudding (Looney Spoons) and Triple Layer Bars (courtesy of Kathryn Adams).  This is the first year I have done Christmas baking, which is kind of crazy, but I have so many get togethers coming up it just made sense to have things on hand.  Of course that is if they last long enough in the fridge.  There is a 5’5″ mouse that sneaks things from time to time.

That’s all for now.  I’m going to try to get my Ten New Things list out next and then take a break over Christmas.  But I’ll leave you with this really fun, silly video from the one, the only, Stephen West, knitter extraordinaire – Pom Pom It

Leave a Reply

