I got the sicks…still.

It has been a pretty slow year so far.  Since Dec 28th I have had a cold.  Not just one, but two.  The first one was all about the throat and coughing, and the second one, that overlapped the first, is all about the nasal congestion. So I have been pretty low energy and tired the past three weeks.  Blah!  Thankfully, I’m at home today, having a bit more of a rest after a busy weekend.

I did find a little energy to make a sweet potato pie (recipe from The Beekman 1802 Heirloom Cookbook).  I have never made pie using a veggie, but it was delicious.  Probably because there is a lot of brown sugar in it.  I did get to learn how to make a burnt butter sauce, which was something I thought was going to be difficult in my head, but turns out it is pretty easy.

Tonight I made a Balsamic Caramel Chicken with Turnip and Sweet Potato (Key’s to the Kitchen).  It too turned out pretty good, just need to make a couple tweaks when cooking turnip, they take longer than the sweet potato!  The skin was delicious though!

Well that is about all the energy I can muster.  My nose doesn’t seem to be able to take in any air and my head is in a fog.  I think it’s time to nasal spray it up!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

