Babies, Babies, Babies

As I write this my sister is about to have her first baby.  She could be in labour for all I know, but she is far off in Germany, so I can’t be sure.  What I can be sure of is that those German doctors are going to be efficient and will work hard to do what they need to do so she has a safe delivery.  The Germans are good at everything.  (Or so my brother-in-law says!)

It seems that I am going through another phase of friends having babies, and I’m very excited for them as it is the first child for many. It is the perfect excuse to make baby knits, which I love making, since they are fast, adorable and I can still be challenged by them, but I don’t have to be concerned about gauge, cause I know if it is a little big, they will grow into it at some point.  You can’t do that with adults.  Or at least you certainly don’t want them to ‘fill out’ so they can fit into something you knit them.  They’ll be blaming your knitwear for their bad health, and I can’t have that on my hands.  

My Ravelry account has so many baby items favourited, so I am really excited to check some off my list.  Here is the first one I’m doing, which is for my sister.

This is Campfire by Tin Can Knits.  She is a local Vancouver designer and she has so many great baby/toddler clothes.  She is also the popular designer of this pattern called Gramps, that I also want to do some day.

This one even has little elbow patches.  So cute. 

I’m sure I’ll be posting my finished knits as I go.  Still finishing up the second arm sleeve for the Campfire pattern, but it’s underway.  And with the Olympics on, it is the perfect excuse to sit in front of the TV and knit away, while cheering on Canada of course).

Happy knitting and Olympic watching!

Leave a Reply

