My Masterchef Moment

Tonight I had my first Masterchef moment.  I was looking for tomato soup in the soup aisle at the grocery store, because Dave and I were having Epic Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup.  A dish we try to improve on every time we make it. Frustratingly, I realized that all the soups had crazy high sodium levels or included sugar.  They weren’t an option.

Silly as this seams, soups are not something I make often, so I have little confidence usually about making one, but I kind of got a little gusto in my step as I hightailed it to the tomato sauce section.  I can do this!  I can make tomato soup from scratch!  For $1.50, I picked up a can and headed home.

I’ve been learning more and more about balancing flavours and knew tomato sauce was very acidic, not something you would eat on its own.  So I scrounged around in the kitchen and pulled a nice balancing act by adding the following to the tomato sauce:

  1. Leftover buttermilk about to expire (added to taste)
  2. A clove of garlic
  3. 1/2 tablespoon dried basil
  4. Salt and Pepper

Topped with fresh basil from my herb garden, an extra strip of bacon from the grilled cheese sandwiches and a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil.

Voila!  A pretty decent tomato soup and it took no time to make.  Dave and I both liked it, and I have to say, I felt pretty proud of myself for not using a recipe and just going with my gut to get the right balance.  I’m a recipe girl, so this was a step in the right direction to get my creative kitchen juices flowing.

Sauces, jus, and consommes are next on the list, along with pasta.  I think it will be an adventurous summer in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

