Pasta Night

One of my goals this summer was to make pasta.  It took me a while to find the pasta roller I wanted at the price I wanted, but I did end up finding one and pasta I did make.

It was a lot easier than I thought.  I used 400gms of flour and 4 eggs to make about 5 servings of pasta dough.  I enjoy making dough.  There is something therapeutic about the way it feels when it comes together.

It came together really lovely, and the texture was nice and silky as it should be.  The pasta roller was really easy to use too, though I could only clamp it on the higher ledge of the kitchen counter, which made for a lot of back and forth from the dining room to the kitchen to roll it out.

I had a little makeshift pasta dryer set up, but quickly ran out of room.

But I managed to find a solution.  (As you can tell salsa was next on my to do list.)

Dinner turned out really well.  I sautéed up some zucchini and carrot in olive oil with garlic and added some chopped rosemary from my ‘garden’.  Dave even picked up some Disfunction Ale bread from Pure Bread when he was in Whistler to add to it.  So simple, but so delicious.  It was a lovely night out on our patio.

Our 1 year anniversary fell a couple days later and we went out to Bridges for a free dinner on them.  It was awesome!  We didn’t realize it was so high end until we saw the menu.  Having only ever ate there for wedding related things, we had never looked at their regular menu.  We enjoyed lamb, beef tenderloin, ahi tuna, prawn cakes, raspberry souffle and an ice cream sundae, all with wine pairings.  It was a beautiful night on the patio, watching the boats go by and the sun set behind the Burrard St bridge.  We reflected back on the wedding, the past year and imagined the year to come.  It was such a lovely night and I can’t wait for what the next year has in store.

Leave a Reply

