Mmmm pork!

It has been a little while since my last post.  Work and life have been ramping up.  I was in Indianapolis for work last week getting acquainted with new systems we are implementing at work.  That was a big week, but the easiest one compared to the four weeks following, where we hash out all the issues, find solutions, prepare training material and train.  I’m in charge of national training for our department, so there will be lots of hours involved and a few headaches for sure, but I’m determined to get through it and come out stronger in the end.

Outside of work, our small group from church grew so big so quickly this  that we had to split into two groups.  Not an easy task and one I helped head up.  It was a balancing act of emotions and finding a way to create balance while meeting people’s needs.  I think we have been successful, but it certainly will take some adjusting and I miss the people I no longer see on our regular Tuesday night get togethers.

However, there is one thing that has brought some of us together.  Pork.  That’s right folks, the other white meat is drawing us close.  Our local butcher on Main St, Windsor Meats, has a Meat Club.  I never thought that would be a type of club I would be apart of, but let me tell you, I’m pretty excited about it.  I am considering this a first and certainly a new way to be adventurous with food and learn new things.  Meat cuts are always something I’ve struggled with.  Where is the hock, or what part of the cow does a t-bone or skirt steak come from?  I can never remember.

The butcher offers beef, bison, lamb or pork to order in difference sizes: whole, half or quarter. So to be adventurous, we went in with two other couples and ordered half a hog. It took less than a week to get the meat which was raised at a local farm in Abbotsford called Gelderman Farms.  You can see the haul above.  The only thing we are still missing is the bacon which is being smoked and brined and will be ready for pick up later this week.

One of the more interesting cuts we got was a pig trotter (hoof).  I’m actually kind of excited about this one.  Chef Marco Pierre White, who is an amazing British chef, helped make pig trotters fine dinning in the 80s/90s.  So if these ugly footies can be fine dinning, I’m sure I can turn them into something okay.  Perhaps one of these recipes will work:

Honey-roasted Pig’s Trotter

Roasted Pig Trotters with Garlic and Herb Breadcrumbs

Seriously.  I found an image of a crotchet pig's trotter.  How random is that?
Seriously.  I found an image of a crotchet pig’s trotter.  How random is that?

I’ll let you all know how it goes when I tackle it.  But for now I’m going to start with some of the ground pork and use it in the classic Looney Spoons recipe Gringo Starr.  I can’t find the official recipe online, but if you have the Collections book, look it up.  It’s simple, delicious and makes lots of leftovers (at least for Dave and I).  

Last thing I’ll leave you with is a link to the CBC which is streaming Damien Rice’s new album for free, and man, was it worth the eight year wait!  I am loving it all, but “I Don’t Want To Change You” is amazing.  Enjoy!

Here is to pig’s trotters, new music and looking forward to December!

Leave a Reply

